Trillion Second Handstand.

 

 

Image

 

Kids are so smart.

No, seriously. Have you ever noticed how kids have the ability to say such simple things that speak to a much larger message?

Usually, they do not even realize what they’re saying or the magnitude of what they are teaching you, they just speak what’s on their mind.

Yesterday while babysitting, I was spotting a little girl in gymnastics, as our recent goal has been to stick her handstand for over five seconds.

She fell over and over and over again.

I could just feel her sadness as her face seemed covered in defeat.

“Lan, what’s wrong?”, I said.

She curled herself up into a little ball, sat in my lap and said, “Honestly, I just wish I could be perfect. Then life would be a LOT easier, I would never get my homework wrong and I could hold a handstand for a trillion seconds.”

(You know kids- they only count in increments of million, billion, trillion and infinity!)

I cupped her face in my hands, getting ready to say something to her when it suddenly crossed my mind that what she said was what many of us feel.

Wouldn’t it be easier if we were just perfect?

We would not ever fail.

And we could all hold handstands for a trillion seconds.

Truthfully though, she was just voicing what so many of us unconsciously pray for all the time.

Not sure of really what to say, feeling as though I was caught red-handed wishing for the same thing she was, I said, “BUT if you were perfect, would you need Jesus?”

Not uttering a word, she just shook her head back and forth, as if to say “no but still, that doesn’t change it.”

So I continued…”And if you were perfect, would you ever get to move onto the next level in gymnastics? Would you ever get to make new friends as you progressed from one grade to the next in school? Or what about girl scouts? You would have no way to earn badges!”

She started to fold out her legs and turn around so she could look at me.

So I kept going…

“I know what you mean. Sometimes, a lot of times actually, I wish I were perfect too. We all do. It would make life a lot easier, but that doesn’t mean it would make life a lot better. We all make mistakes, but those mistakes remind us that Jesus IS perfect and He lives inside of us.

And guess what? He can hold a handstand for an infinity times infinity times infinity amount of seconds. He MADE seconds. Cool, huh?”

I memorized the conversation because I played it over and over in my head again as the day went on.

I was humbly reminded that all too often, I pray to be perfect.

In other words, I pray to NOT need Jesus.

I pray to know everything so I won’t have to trust in the uncertain.

Or I pray to look a certain way so that I won’t have to rely on how Jesus sees me instead of how I view myself.

I pray to have a deep relationship with Jesus but to only have to trust Him in the shallowest of waters.

But, as my little girl taught me yesterday, being perfect would be boring.

It would allow for no girl scout patches.

We would be all we need.

And THAT requires no faith.

So, today, I am extremely grateful that I am far, far, FAR away from being perfect. Because in my imperfections, my Savior rescues me over and over and over again.

And a life with Him? It is far from boring.

If we know that Jesus is all that we need, let us pray that we are always reminded of the difference between our value without Him and our significance in Him.

It’s a trillion, billion, million times infinity true: His strength is made perfect in our weakness.

Praying for you guys!

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” -2 Corinthians 12:9

Leave a Reply

