Quit Running: Only Jesus Satisfies.

It’s easy, really easy, to try and fill your cup with all the distractions around us.

We are upset? We will get something to make us happy.

We don’t like the old apple computer anymore? No worries, we will go buy the newest one.

We run and we run and we run chasing after anything that we think will cure our apetite, unaware that we are running even further away from the only thing that ever will: Jesus.

I always wonder to myself why it is so hard to just rest in that truth when it is something I have found to be true, over and over and over again? I mean, I have come to that realization one too many times.
 
But I think it’s always because we change our focus.
 
We get off center and our perspective becomes “What do I need? What would make ME happy?”
 
Instead of God’s goodness, it becomes our desires. So we run after what society promises will fix that.
 
And sometimes, often more times than not, we hit the wall of discontentment and dissatisfaction. It hurts. It is painful. And it usually bruises our ego.
 
“Why, Lord, why!? I don’t understand why I am in this position again?” we cry out, wondering what our lives have come to. 
 
Only to sweetly be reminded that in our desperation, we remember the only reason we have salvation and because of that, we have the most precious gift of all.
 
The crux of it comes down to this: Until you realize that you were made with the purpose to glorify God, life will remain to confuse you, hurt you and lead you astray. 
 
The world provides offers that seem glamorous, glitter-filled and full of life but the thing is, nothing- no matter how much, no matter what and no matter who you are- will satisfy your heart.
 
There is not a “God sized hole” that you must fill with Jesus and then contentment rolls in. There is a life sized hole, created for the Potter’s hand himself.
 
Surrender it all. Let Him satisfy you and put together the broken pieces.
 
We are all wilted. 
 
A little bruised.
 
Exhausted from running non-stop.
 
But in the Maker’s hand, we will find rest.
 
So, stop running. Stop reaching for something else- another lifestyle, a better relationship, a bigger house, a perfect body or whatever it may be.
 
You, my friend, are a uniquely made masterpiece that is only able to achieve its purpose and reach its’ potential when inside the Maker’s hand and seeking the Maker’s heart.
 
Quit running, for only Jesus satisfies. 
 
“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” -Romans 12:2 

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” -Matthew 11:28-30

Leave a Reply

