Don’t follow your heart. Follow His.

If you look on Pinterest, you will see a million different signs that read, “Follow your heart.” Or “Go with your gut”.

Both of which I have pinned…and for a long time, were words of advice I fed my own mind.

But,  as I have been going through the decision making process for some things in my life lately, I have realized how terrible of advice this is.

Follow my heart? My heart is incredibly selfish, deceitful and concerned with status and reputation. My heart often doubts and worries about things that are outside my control. My heart is guided by fear, not love.

I must not follow my heart.

But His. My father’s Heart. The heart that my heart was created to pursue.

His heart covers mine with grace, fills all the gaps of doubt that consume mine, showers me with truth and provides guidance that shows me where to go.

It is when I deny my own self and follow Him that I know I am on the right path.

So while I may be off on this notion, I would venture to say that when our “gut” leads us in the right direction, it was actually our spirit doing the talking.

When we are in step with our daddy’s steps, our deceitful heart holds less power because the light of absolute truth has already intervened.

So, let me re-phrase it and say: “Don’t follow your heart, follow His.”

Or “Don’t go with your gut,  seek the one who made your guts.”…just kidding…but seriously.

I am so thankful for a God that takes the time to provide provision, guidance and confirmation with each decision that we make, for if we were left to our own heart’s decision making abilities, we would be in a world of hurt.

Seek His truth- it always has the answers and it will NEVER lead you astray.

Don’t follow your heart- follow His!

“The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?” -Jeremiah 17:9

“Let no one deceive himself. If anyone among you thinks that he is wise in this age, let him become a fool that he may become wise.” -1 Corinthians 3:18

Leave a Reply

