Let it change the way you live.

Life is short.

That’s a familiar phrase, right?

Well, I just started reading a book called “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan and he says something in there that has completely stuck with me since I read it:

“You could be the next person in your family to die. I could be the next person in my church to die. We have to realize it. We have to believe it enough that it changes how we live.”

Wow.

We have to believe it enough that is changes how we LIVE.

Not just how we talk.

Not just the day that we read this in a book.

But how we live, every single day of our lives.

I’m going to be honest, I think I have heard that phrase and accepted that as truth for as long as I can remember.

I am eventually going to die. Well, okay, I know that.

But has it changed how I have lived?

I would venture to say no in many areas.

I often let worry permeate my being and disturb my peace.  I let people control my emotions and steal my joy. I let situations get the best of me and confuse my direction.

I get so lost in all of it and I forget that it is all so silly. So temporary. So unnecessary. And so deeply insignificant.

Friends, if you KNEW that you could die tomorrow, would you live differently today?

I would guess that we would all say YES. Without a shadow of a doubt.

I think we accept this as a half-truth, like we know that it’s a fact of life that eventually our lives will come to an end but we live, day to day, as if we will live forever. I know I do.

I think the Lord is yearning for us to see this whole truth: WE AREN’T IN CONTROL! And in fact, tomorrow could very well be our last day!

We must live in a way that shows that we know this is a temporary place, and how long our stay here is, well that is to be determined.

I think there is great relief and release when we start living this way.

It certainly doesn’t mean we become apathetic, but we don’t sweat the small stuff as much.

We aren’t as afraid of our reputation here because we know hearing the Lord say “Well done, my good and faithful servant” is FAR more satisfying than any accolades we could receive here!

Our status on this Earth is defined by man and man knows nothing! Knowing the Lord intimately is worth more than gold.

Let this change the way that you live.

Let me say this again: Let this change the way that you live. Today. And the next day. And the next.

Let it be your norm to live radically.

We can’t afford to get comfortable in the uncertainties and temporary prizes of this world when we are guaranteed to gain the ultimate crown upstairs.

LIVE IT UP!  It is time.

You could die tomorrow is not a truth that is meant to scare you out of living, but rather a truth that is meant to prepare you to already be living!

Let’s get going.

Leave a Reply

