Just Get on the Treadmill!

“I LOVE the first five minutes of my run!”

“My favorite part of writing a paper is getting started!”

“The first day of my diet is a TOTAL BREEZE!”

…All stuff NOBODY says. Or if you do, we wouldn’t be friends. Just kidding. I would just make you give me a piggy-back for the first five minutes of my run, write the first paragraph of my paper and morally motivate me every second for the first day of my diet.

Anywho, my point is, starting anything, no matter what it is, is not fun.

It requires sacrifice.

And discipline.

Which sometimes means  saying “no” to stuff you like and saying “yes” to stuff you don’t like.

Or removing something from your schedule that you’re used to and replacing it with something that you’re not so fond of (aka treadmill time for tivo/pizza time).

I think starting anything new that is out of the ordinary of ANY capacity is difficult because it requires  major discipline. It requires shifting out of your normal, day-to-day, routine and being willing to invite in a new one.

Call me crazy, but if a friend offered me a Reece’s blast the first day after starting my diet, that would be hard to decline! And if she said that it contained EXTRA Reece’s, I would graciously thank God for intervening through my lovely friend to tell me I needed to wait another day to start my diet. I told you He was a loving God.

But in all seriousness, starting anything is HARD.

Classic lines can be annoying but the classic line is completely relevant here. Ya know, the one that says, “If it were easy, everyone would be doing it.”

It’s so true!  And the same goes for life!

If starting a spiritual discipline were easy, we would all be much less in need of grace. But let’s be real, we all DESPERATELY need Grace.

So before I even ask the question, you probably know the answer to my question: What do you need to start?

Maybe it’s a consistent quiet time.

Maybe it’s journaling your thoughts.

Maybe it’s praying more.

Maybe it’s just spending any time at all with God.

Maybe it’s simply walking in the truth of your worth and not listening to those around you.

I don’t know what it is for you, but whatever it is, I pray that you have the courage to START something. You don’t have to convince me that your schedule is full and your brain just can’t go there!

I GET IT.

No one has time. But that might mean quitting something that is pulling you away from Jesus or just not adding to the substance of who you are, and replacing it with a life-changing spiritual discipline.

Start it, today. Get through it, today.

And then tomorrow? We will get through tomorrow when it comes.

So, turn on some good tunes, lace up your teni-shoes and get yourself on that treadmill! 🙂

Leave a Reply

