How many times?

Have you ever had to tell someone something over and over and over…and over again?

It is so frustrating.

If you have never had this happen (impossible), then I will gladly give you a little example.

It involves a group project, which can be stressful in itself, because you are depending on other people to do their job so that you can do yours.  I was placed in a group and we all delegated tasks appropriately and had everything settled.

Well, I was in charge of putting everything together at the end, adding a conclusion, editing the current content and making it look pretty, or as pretty as a power point can look I guess.

In order to do this, I assigned deadlines for every group member to send me their information by a certain date so that I could edit it and have it completed on time. Needless to say, Jimmy (not his real name) decided to bring his headphones to class and tune out life in general.  So the “slides” he sent me…well…they were interesting.

I re-did them all.

Joe (not his real name) sent his 98 days late ( really 2) so I wanted to punch him.

And Melanie (not her real name), wrote slides on the completely wrong subject and sent them to me late.

Being a freshman, I was to the point of belonging in a psych ward over this project. I am so serious. I sent out at least 11 emails reminding them of their tasks and they STILL managed to be late.

Amazing.

This post makes me sound like an absolute nut and school fanatic, which is quite humorous. So, don’t worry, I’m not a nut, but THIS was frustrating!

Anyway, my point is, it is hard to tell someone something over and over again and have them not listen!

“Hahahahahahahhahahaha!!!! That’s funny, Cleere! You do that ALL THE TIME! However,  I love telling you about your gifts and how special you are over and over again, but it might not hurt to listen!” –Jesus talking here.

You see, when I thought about it this morning, I just had to giggle. Jesus has reminded me more than a million times of my worth and who I am.  He has spent hours knocking at my door and pleading me to take a walk with Him, just so I can know that I am worth being invested in.

He has graciously reminded me of my gifts, even after I doubt them.  He has even placed others in my path to be a voice of reassurance.

And yet, I still forget.  I still doubt.

I am aware of my gifts, but I focus on my weaknesses. I know my strengths but I let my flaws take my focus. It makes ZERO sense!

Just like I felt about my group members, I am sure Jesus is thinking “CLEERE, WE GOT STUFF TO DO CHILD! WHY ARE YOU STILL SITTING THERE?”

Do you feel like He is saying that to you?

Maybe it’s time to stop being stagnant and step on the gas.

And don’t worry, God is MUCH more patient than you and I, and He will gladly remind you who you are and what you can do, over and over and over again.

But you decide to listen.

We got Kingdom work to do, ladies and gentlemen! What are you waiting on?

Leave a Reply

