The Wrong Caption.

Have you ever gotten dressed for a big event or dolled yourself up in a new outfit and you were feelin’ fly?…until you looked in the mirror after a few hours. HAHA is all i have to say about myself at times.

I considered suing a particular place downtown because everytime I go out and end up looking in this mirror, I swear it is lying. It’s like one of those circus mirrors that gets the proportions all mixed up…yeah, it’s one of those. Or that’s what I’m going with for the time being.

But really, it is insane how quickly we go from snapping pictures left and right to refusing to be present in the next snapshot after seeing ourselves in the mirror.

What changed?

Not your appearance. Hate to break it to ya, and myself as well, but sweaty hair does not take you down ten notches. It just ain’t possible.

What changed though?

Our perspective. Our mindset . What changed is how we saw ourselves, therefore sky-rocketing or plummeting our confidence level. And then, that night that was supposed to be composed of fun memories with friends turns into a selfish pity-party in your head where you contemplate why you’re not “pretty enough” or “hott enough” or “good enough” or “skinny enough” or blah, blah, blah whatever!

I’m stopping myself cause I find even my own introverted thoughts annoying in this process. It seems absolutely ridiculous that we let such miniscule, materialistic details change our plans and ability to enjoy ourselves.

While I am not retracting my belief that mirrors might make this world (especially the female population) a happier place, I think it is of utmost importance that we ask ourselves whose standards we are adhering to….Why would we let the world’s definition of beautiful override that of God’s view of us? Didn’t He create everything in this world anyway?

It isn’t the picture portrayed in the mirror that we must “work on”, but rather the message and caption we attach with this picture. I’m simply encouraging you to take off the false, unreliable caption the world places on appearance and reattach the caption the Lord put on when He created you.

So I want to encourage you to feed yourself truth and redefine the thoughts that you think when you look in the mirror. I’m not saying you won’t have those “days” nor am I saying your reactions will be “Dangggggg son, I look GOOD.” (If it is, two thumbs up to you my friend, now stay humble 🙂 )

But truly, tell yourself these things each time you look in the mirror:

“You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.” -Song of Solomon 4:7

“Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” -1 Samuel `6:7

“Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” -Proverbs 31:30

Eventually, the truth you’re speaking will become ingrained into your brain, into your mind, into your soul and eventually be the knowledge of your heart.

Do not let the mirrors of this world decide how you see yourself. You are BEAUTIFUL!

Now, defying my own idea at the beginning, go look in the mirror. Which caption defines you today?

Leave a Reply

