It’s okay to not be okay.

Have you ever been sad and you really don’t even know why? Or you just get into a funk during the day and you can’t seem to shake it off? Or today, everything hurts your feelings? (even a six-year-old’s comments can make you cry. I speak from experience here).

I’m gonna go out on a limb and say that a lot of people have felt this way. Maybe I’m crazy? If so, stop reading. If not, work with me here and think of a time when you have just felt “off” or “not 100 percent, or “not yourself.”

I have had these days more than I can count. Unfortunately, I am not one of those kind of people who can hide my emotions…at all. Actually, the more I try and hide them, the more obvious they are. I’m upset= I try to be excitedly cheery. It takes that one person to ask me a certain way or the hug from my brother that breaks my wall down. And brick by brick by brick, I crumble. Often literally. (Feel sorry for me yet?)

No, I’m not an emotional nut. I promise. Actually, I think if I considered myself overdramatic, that might even be easier cause I’d have an excuse! But I’m not.

Anyway, these days are my least favorite while I’m going through them. I get so impatient and frustrated with myself because I can’t label why I’m feeling sad or upset. I literally go through the different aspects of my life (family, friends, school etc) and check them off in my head. WHY am I sad or feeling this way? It’s like that rut that you just can’t get out of so you have to hang out there a while.

But, as I reflect on my days like this, there is a common ending to each one. Always.

God intervenes.

What’s that mean?

Well, it doesn’t mean that I start jumping around on rainbows BUT the second I get on my knees on a day like this and invite God to reveal to me why I’m feeling this way or restore my joy, He starts speaking TRUTH into my life!

My mom has always said, “There is so much power in Jesus’ name! But only if you believe it.” Well, go mama! So true.

Sometimes days like this are God’s way of pulling us in, calling our name and saying to each of us, “You are mine!” It is not that our lives are just enriched by a friendship with our maker, they are DESIGNED for it! We were created to be pursued by Jesus and to pursue His heart in return. That is true Joy! That is when we begin to understand love. That is when we get to experience life! That’s when the days where we don’t feel like “ourselves”, we learn that only He can give us back that peace of mind we need.

So, even if you’re feeling just a little off your rocker, do not wait until you’re literally helpless to go to Him with it! God understands every single human emotion, even the ones we can’t describe or explain to ourselves. He knows them. He created them. He can sort them out. He can fix them. He can change them!

And be encouraged! Having an “off day” for no reason is COMPLETELY NORMAL. Do not even waste your time sending out invitations to your self pity-party because no one has time for that, especially you!

It’s okay to not always be okay.

Did you hear that? No? Okay, I’ll say it again. It is okay to not always be okay.

In fact, that’s like a sign that your heart is beating and your blood is flowing. It is human! BUT it is what you do with that that makes the difference. Go straight to the throne, get your cup filled and expect the end of your day to be much better than the beginning. Maybe circumstances didn’t change, maybe everything is just as it was before, but now you have a Jesus perspective. THAT, my friend, is irreplaceable.

So, when you’re not feelin’ peachy, get on your knees and thank Jesus anyway. Jesus can make it all okay.

“I sought the Lord, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.”
-Psalm 34:4

Leave a Reply

